AMA 2015 Report

Since my FB status summed up everything pretty well, I’m just going to use that w/ a few minor additions:

Original post 6/23/2015…
So, AMA, a.k.a. Oppression-con, a.k.a. #DatAssCon, was officially my chill la kill con, as it were.  Had so much fun!  Meeting old friends, making new ones, meeting mutual ones, etc., etc., it was great!  Talked a lot about all the ways AMA was oppressing & how we were oppressing each other w/ one group, talked panels & such w/ the other; everything was #FABULOUS.

I mean, the tent(s) situation was s**t & ruined pretty much any panel that was in there, guest or not.  Upon going to the feedback session, learned both the con & hotel staff didn’t like the situation b/c those weren’t the tents they originally ordered, but, let’s be honest, having tents at all is a horrible idea.  If I were to offer any possible solution it would be to get rid of most/all the video rooms, since they aren’t doing that well anyway, & convert those to panel rooms (or put video rooms in the tents).  Not mofo tents X/

Personally, my own panels were OK.  Cosplay Smarter I either need 2 hours for or split it into 2 separate panels, which is most likely going to be the way I go; .hack went pretty well, too bad it was the 1st panel in that room for the day so the room was locked & the projector wasn’t set up; I only had an hour, so delaying it even more kinda irritated me; Figures to the Max! was the first time I outright didn’t have ppl. show up (not surprised, first panel in one of the tents on Sunday), but had a great chat w/ the person stationed to that “room”.

All in all, staffing seemed really off this year, at least w/ Programming.  I mean, I really loved this year’s experience w/ the con overall, but if Programming is going to be this…snotty I guess is what I’ll go w/, then f**k AMA.  I’m not coming all the way down here for barely 3 panels.  I can go to bigger cons & not get nearly as much of a hassle like I did w/ this one, & I wasn’t the only one.  So, hopefully, that s**t gets straightened out for next year.

Lastly, saw/found my new fav panel I look forward to every year; the comic book one hosted by Emanuel & several other awesome ppl, Aldrich being one of them.  Now, to be perfectly honest, at one point someone was being pissy that the panel wasn’t “beginner enough”, but if you have time to b***h about that, you could have just, you know, asked whatever particular ques. you had that would have brought the convo to being more n00b friendly…& *not* be an annoying a**hole >.>

Anyway, great time (being oppressed), great ppl., staff was good but Programming has some soul searching to do, f**k the tents, & that’s about it ^.^  Now to focus on Otakon stuff ~.~

Also, decided I’m going to shoot for Sangawa Project (http://sangawaproject.com/) this year too as suggested by Charles seeing as it’s more 18+ friendly among other things.

So, like I said, it sums up everything quite nicely on my feelz with this con. I had a great time but the Programming dept. could potentially be the sole reason why I don’t return (why go somewhere that’s this annoyingly difficult to get panels accepted to?), otherwise, I can still see me leaving this as a permanent stop on my con tour list for years to come. However, hopefully they’re able to move to a bigger & better venue in the not-too-distant future b/c they could definitely use the space.

Besides that, yet again I need to rethink & reimagine my Cosplay Smarter panel & basically split everything covered between 2-3 panels so I can keep it no longer than 1.5 hours. Otherwise, I really like how that panel turned out.

Cosplay wise I did a whopping 5 costumes this time around, which is a lot for me (usually do 3, 4 if one has alternate outfits [like Grimmjow]). Friday I was the new version of Grimmjow  (Bleach) earlier in the day & his Espada form in the evening. Saturday I was Sailor Ukitake (Sailor Moon/Bleach crossove4) w/ some friends while they were Sailor Hitsugaya & Rangiku Mask respectively & we were the Sailor Shirou Scouts (+ Rangiku Mask). Sunday I was an OC of sorts I call the Kiseru Woman which was Geisha & Yakuza (more or less) inspired. I’ll post pics of all when I get everything, otherwise you can keep tabs on them all on my cosplay FB page.

Lastly, I plan to post the PDF files & resources for all my panels I gave this con soon-ish, so please stay tuned when I get those up. In either case, I’ll make a blog post when I update the respective pages.

 

UPDATE: 7/1/15

Here are some samples of my AMA 2015 insanity cosplay track.  Can see the rest on my cosplay FB page.

Leave a Reply

