999 Post-game “Mini” Review

So, this past Saturday I *finally* beat 999 😀 Super excited since that means I can finally move on to VLR proper w/o a care in the world (since certain characters from that game are literally walking spoilers).

tl; dr version of why I did VLR before 999: originally didn’t care for it too much, didn’t have a DS/3DS (but had a Vita), spoiled most of the game via Wiki/TV Tropes namely b/c I didn’t think US had the game (it’s super Japanese & I never thought US would get/had it), & a few more reasons. Either way, beat the game before 999.

So, tl;dr*2 again; loved the f**k out of this game. Besides that:

+No matter how I look at it, Lotus is an unforgivable c**t most of the time. Like, in the end I still *mostly* like her but she b*tches far too much & is way too condescending at times.

+Sudoku?! Not surprised but f’ing really?! Super ambivalent about this b/c it’s both super appropriate & super f’ing annoying. Thank kami for sudoku solution generator type sites >.>

+Oh, Akane, you’re f’ing awesome (ditto for Santa). I only wish I waited to cosplay him b/c I def would cosplay him now.

+I hate the fact that most of the ‘options’ you have in dialog don’t really matter, it’s mostly about what doors you go through as far as routes are concerned. Granted, to get the true ending, any instance that would encourage certain characters to go on ad infinitum about something that “can’t possibly have anything to do w/ anything”, f’ing DO IT.

+The axe ending has got to be my fav bad ending. Only reason I don’t utterly despise Clover.

+Snake’s cool at first…then by the time the umpteenth snarky/smart@$$ comment kicks in it’s not f’ing cute anymore -_- Like, I know a *lot* love Snake, but I like Ace far more than I could ever like him >.>

+On that matter, w/ the exception of Seven, your character, & somewhat Ace, every character has far too many “jerk w/ the heart of an @$$hole” moments. Smart@$$ is “cute” in small doses, not every G.D. line out of your mouth. Funny thing, it gets WORSE in VLR, but is strangely both more & less tolerable, IDK

+Snake IS a total bad@$$…when he’s not being a snarky d*uche >.>

+Junpei has far too many “you f’ing idiot, THINK!” moments. There are so many times he asks questions about s**t he not 2 minutes ago just commented on X/

+F**k digital roots & base-ANYTHING X/

Finally, even though I’m super happy this means I can move on to VLR, the puzzles are far harder than 999 (at least to me). Like, if I spend enough time trying different combinations & going over clues I most likely will eventually figure it out, whereas VLR puts me in situations I’m just like “…I DON’T F’ING KNOW DX” & I wind up having to play w/ my phone out ~.~ (since I refuse to do less than hard mode).

Oh well, more VLR means more d*uche baggery & Liam O’Brien XD

That was my super “short” rundown of the game I posted on my personal FB page, some other things I would add on are that I loved the ending sequence of the true ending. The song that was playing was great, flipping the interface of the puzzle (you’ll understand when you get there/beaten the game) I thought was a fantastic idea to show that “perfect connection” 2 of the characters had, & the raw emotion was f’ing moving. I genuinely enjoyed every minute of it. Also, the last stinger involving Seven & that mysterious woman, f’ing fantastic.

All in all great game, & I’m glad I played it to completion. Now, onwards! To VLR & may God (Dio [?]) help us all ~.~’

Leave a Reply

